Indian citizens can now obtain longer-term, multiple-entry Schengen visa

Great news for Indian travelers! The European Union has just made it easier for Indian citizens to visit Europe. Now, Indians can get long-term, multi-entry Schengen visas that last up to two years. To qualify, you need to have used two visas in the last three years, showing you're a seasoned traveler.

This update, announced on April 18, shows how the EU and India are working together to make travel smoother. It's all part of the EU-India Common Agenda on Migration and Mobility, which aims to make it easier for people to move between the two regions. The EU values India as a partner and wants to make sure the visa process is as hassle-free as possible. By doing this, both sides hope to strengthen their relationship and make it easier for people to connect and engage with each other.

 Indian citizens can now obtain longer-term, multiple-entry Schengen visa

What is a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa serves as an entry authorization, facilitating visits to any member country within the Schengen area for a defined duration. This type of visa enables individuals to explore the designated region freely, accommodating stays of up to 90 days within a span of 180 days. It's essential to understand that while Schengen visas offer this flexibility, they do not confer the privilege of employment during the visit. This succinctly encapsulates the dual nature of Schengen visas, emphasizing their utility for travel while delineating their limitations regarding work-related activities.

What countries are included in the Schengen visa?

The Schengen area encompasses a collective of 29 European nations, comprising 25 EU member states, namely Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland, and Sweden. Additionally, it extends to non-EU territories, encompassing Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

 Indian citizens can now obtain longer-term, multiple-entry Schengen visa

What are the latest regulations for Indians?

Under the latest regulations, Indian citizens who have lawfully utilized two visas within the preceding three years become eligible for an extended, multi-entry Schengen visa, valid for a generous period of two years. Furthermore, if applicants satisfy all criteria and possess sufficient passport validity, they may even qualify for an extended five-year visa. Throughout the duration of these visas, holders enjoy the freedom to travel seamlessly within the Schengen area for short-term stays, similar to the privileges given to nationals except visa requirements.

Also read: Is Schengen Style Visa System in Works for Southeast Asia?

Subscribe to TripZilla

Get updated on travel deals and trip ideas!

Related Posts

11 New Eco-Tourism Spots Coming to Himachal Pradesh

In a bid to promote sustainable tourism and showcase the pristine beauty of the state, the Himachal Pradesh government has identified 11 new eco-tourism sites.

3 Indian restaurants among the top 10 legendary restaurants in the world! Everything you need to know

Embark on a flavorful odyssey through the global gastronomic tapestry as we unveil three Indian restaurants adorned with rich flavors and cultural influences, securing their spot among the world's top 10 legendary dining destinations.

3 Visa Updates for Easy Indian Summer Travels

Get ready, Indian travelers! Summer adventure awaits with 3 visa updates: longer Thailand stay, easy Sri Lanka access, and simplified Schengen rules for Europe. Let's explore and make memories!

After floods, Sikkim is now welcoming tourists!

Following the devastating floods that temporarily disrupted the state's tourism sector, Sikkim has emerged stronger and more resilient, ready to welcome travelers from across the globe.

Taj Mahal's Competetion is here? Agra Gets a New White Marvel

A new white marble structure is taking its shape in Agra.

Latest Posts

Sikkim Enforces New Sustainability Measures for Travelers: Carry Your Own Garbage Bags!

Travelers to Sikkim are now required to carry their own garbage bags, marking a significant step towards sustainable tourism in the picturesque state.

Gita Mandir, Ahmedabad: Everything You Need to Know!

Discover the serenity and spiritual essence of Gita Mandir in Ahmedabad, a sanctuary dedicated to Lord Krishna and the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita.

Best & Worst Time to Visit Sakleshpur, Karnataka: When to Visit?

Discover the best and worst times to visit Sakleshpur for a memorable adventure in Karnataka's lush hill station.

Kerala Implements Restrictions on Tourist Spots Amid Heavy Rains

Travel news update: Tourist spots closed amid heavy rain in Kerala

Air India Introduces E-Gift Cards for Seamless Travel Purchases

E-Gift cards to make travel gifting seamless!